Gluten Free Easter Baskets
This is a guest post from Kylie at Keep Calm and Carrier On, a site about Living Gluten Free and Chemical Free In a Busy World.
Gluten Free Easter Baskets
Easter baskets are supposed to be fun, exciting treats on Easter morning. Unfortunately, when you love someone with a gluten allergy, it can be difficult to make the occasion joyful instead of anxiety ridden. Luckily, gluten free treats are becoming more and more common!
There are a lot of reasons to choose a gluten free lifestyle. The lists below are broken down by certified gluten free (no gluten containing ingredients, no cross contamination) and likely gluten free (no gluten containing ingredients, no guarantee the products were processed away from gluten containing ingredients).
Those who choose a gluten free diet for lifestyle or behavioral reasons should be able to enjoy treats on the second list, but those with Celiac’s Disease should stick with the first. If you (or your Easter basket recipient) has a severe food allergy, be sure to clear all new additions to your diet with your doctor.
Certified Gluten Free
Your favorite marshmallow chicks are gluten free! Some special flavors have gluten containing ingredients, but all packages are clearly marked if they are gluten free.
Easter Themed M&Ms
Those beautiful pastels M&Ms are gluten free! Remember – all pretzel M&Ms do contain gluten. Be sure to check the packaging before consuming. Some new flavors are processed in facilities that have a risk of cross contamination, but that is indicated on the packaging.
Jelly Belly Jelly Beans
Both the original and the Easter themed varieties are gluten free. This is another one where the packaging is clear – it’ll give you plenty of reassurance.
Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Bar
Unfortunately, the Hershey’s Easter candy is not certified gluten free (although you may see some on the other list). However, the original Hershey’s bar is safe for the chocolate lover in your life.
Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups
Like the Hershey’s Milk Chocolate, the Easter egg and other Reese’s holiday shapes are not necessarily gluten free. However, the original Reese’s Peanut Butter cups are!
Easter Themed Starbursts
Easter Themed Starbursts (and the original variety) are gluten free! They are safe to enjoy for your sugar high.
Likely Gluten Free
Cadbury Crème Eggs
Cadbury Crème Eggs do not have any gluten containing ingredients. However, Hershey’s does not guarantee they are gluten free. They do contain “natural flavoring,” which can be a trigger for some.
Easter Egg Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups
These treats do not have gluten containing ingredients! They have the delicious chocolate-peanut butter combination in a fun shape.
Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Bunnies
The small bunnies (that usually come in a package of six) do not have any gluten containing ingredients. However, other Hershey’s products do have issues with cross contamination.
Jolly Ranchers Hard Candy
Hershey’s does not release allergen information on Jolly Ranchers. They do not contain any gluten containing ingredients.
Lindt Chocolate Carrots
These are another delicious chocolate treat. They don’t have any gluten containing ingredients!
SweetTARTS and their various Easter varieties do not have gluten containing ingredients. However, they are not considered certified gluten free because they have a cross contamination risk.