Nationwide Give Away & Review: A Case of Little Debbie Cloud Cakes

by Laura on March 1, 2011

Little Debbie is one of the most recognizeable food names in America.  So when I got an e-mail from them asking to do a give away I was excited.  It’s one of those give aways where you know exactly what kind of prize you are getting!

They have a new type of snack cake called “Cloud Cakes.”  And they sent me a box to try so I could review them to go with the give away. 

I didn’t feel like I was the ideal candidate to review a Little Debbie snack taste-wise.  Little Debbie snacks in my head are for school lunches and kids!  And fortunately I work with an amazing bunch of kids that I thought might be willing to help me out.

Each week I teach voice at Inspiration Academy for the Performing Arts in Virginia Beach.  My students (in the picture) are the most active kids I have ever seen- between dance classes, sports participation and everything else they do they burn alot of calories!  So while I don’t normally give them food as a treat I figured this one time I would be willing to get their opinion on the Little Debbie Cloud Cake.

Everyone’s initial reaction to the Cloud Cake was the same.  “It looks like a Twinkie.”   Twinkies are made by Hostess- a competitor of Little Debbie. 

The reaction to the taste was different however. 

- “Twinkies usually sort of taste like the plastic wrapping- these don’t.  They taste fresher.” 

- “They have a lemon flavor that makes them taste really unique.”

- “Yummy”  (I heard that several times).

- “I really like the cream inside- its sweet.”

- “Do you have any more?”

The reviews all the way around were positive.  Thumbs up for the new Cloud Cakes.

So are you ready to try them yourself?  Well Little Debbie has given me a CASE to give to one lucky reader.  If you don’t know (and I didn’t) a case is 12 boxes.  So it’s 120 individually wrapped Cloud Cakes.  That’s alot of school lunches, a big donation to a local food bank or whatever you would like to do with them.

You can enter up to 2 times:

Entry #1: Leave a comment on this post and tell me your favorite Little Debbie Snack Cake

Entry #2: Follow me on facebook and leave a comment on this post telling me you do

This contest will run through March 9th at midnight.  I will select the winner using random.org and notify them by e-mail.  They will have 24 hours to respond and if they do not, I will move onto another winner.

Good luck!

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
It is important to note that this blog accepts forms of cash advertising, sponsorships, paid insertions, or other forms of compensation. The compensation received will never influence the content, topics or posts made in this blog. All opinions stated in this blog belong to its author and no one else. I will only endorse products, companies, and services that I have found worthy of my time and opinion. A Frugal Chick is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to www.amazon.com.


{ 222 comments }

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
Erinn S March 6, 2011 at 3:06 pm

My boys love the brownies and Nutty Bars!

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
Kay M March 6, 2011 at 10:34 am

I ‘like’ you on Facebook. (‘Crismon’ Philips)
theblackat at hotmail dot com

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
Kay M March 6, 2011 at 10:33 am

We love the Oatmeal Creme Pies and the Nutty Bars. Ok, there are several more we like, but these are the ones I buy the most. My husband takes them in his lunch every day!
theblackat at hotmail dot com

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
Kathryn Littler-Fuller March 6, 2011 at 8:09 am

I follow you on fb.

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
Kathryn Littler-Fuller March 6, 2011 at 8:08 am

We love the nutty bars in our home.

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
Brenda Wardwell March 5, 2011 at 10:49 pm

My Church feeds the homeless on Friday night and we are starting another day on Thursday and possible Sunday as well Would love to be able to donate these cakes to this cause. There are men women and children that come to be fed and this would be a nice desert for them to have it’s sealed and they can save it for later if they feel a need. My Church is Forest Park Church in Elizabeth City.

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
angie March 5, 2011 at 6:47 pm

like you on facebook my ID angie stewart church
shopannnies at yahoo dot com

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
angie March 5, 2011 at 6:44 pm

our favorite nutty bars
shopannies at yahoo dot com

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
Jolene H March 5, 2011 at 3:39 pm

Love me some Nutty bars & Zebra cakes!!!
oh, who am I fooling??……LOVE them all!!!

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
amanda March 5, 2011 at 12:08 pm

I am now following you on FB

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
amanda March 5, 2011 at 12:06 pm

Oatmeal Cream Pies are the best!

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
Tammye March 5, 2011 at 11:36 am

My family – with 5 kids- certainly can nominate the all out Little Debbie favorite for the past two years; the nutty bars wins the favorite slot hands down around here.

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
Mac March 5, 2011 at 10:16 am

Love the brownies and your website!

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
Alison March 5, 2011 at 10:11 am

I follow you on facebook

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
Patti Evans March 5, 2011 at 1:50 am

I follow you on Facebook.

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
Patti Evans March 5, 2011 at 1:49 am

I LOVE the Oatmeal Cream Pies.

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
amy March 4, 2011 at 11:59 pm

I love little debbie brownies!! I have 9 nieces/nephews that would LOVE these!

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
Rebecca March 4, 2011 at 5:04 pm

I follow you on facebook, and my favorite little debbies are star crunches.

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
Jennifer Steinwand March 4, 2011 at 3:00 pm

I follow you on facebook. I like the zebra cakes and my husband likes the nutty bars. :)

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
Holly A. March 4, 2011 at 2:39 pm

I love the twinkies! I either make them as strawberry shortcake, in a banana split, or slice them and put fruit in the middle like a sandwich.

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
Leanna Morris March 4, 2011 at 8:42 am

Love the oatmeal pies

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
Carrie March 4, 2011 at 8:29 am

Decisions…decisions…I like Swiss Cake Rolls and Fudge Rounds.

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
Ashley Hall March 3, 2011 at 11:44 pm

My favorite is the gingerbread man cookies!!

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
meme March 3, 2011 at 10:14 pm

I really love thier swiss rolls and cherry swiss rolls

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
Tandra Banks March 3, 2011 at 9:43 pm

Follow you on Facebook and have been for a while now.

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
Tandra Banks March 3, 2011 at 9:43 pm

Little Debbies are awesome. I can’t choose one favorite because I love them all!

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
Deborah March 3, 2011 at 8:46 pm

My fav are oatmeal pies!

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
Lisa Baker March 3, 2011 at 8:24 pm

SWISS CAKE ROLLS right out of the fridge.

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
Kristy Henricks March 3, 2011 at 8:21 pm

I love Oatmeal Cream Pies.

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
sara's saving's March 3, 2011 at 5:08 pm

i follow u on face book as sara savings plus more and posted i entered

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
sara's saving's March 3, 2011 at 5:07 pm

my fave is the twinkie ones or ding dong style oh i love all of them in all honesty

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
Kim Fortin March 3, 2011 at 4:45 pm

I can’t wait to try these, and I can’t wait for our Little Debbie rep to bring them in (Dollar General). I hope I win some. Love Lemon anything.

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
Sara Combs Lesley March 3, 2011 at 1:49 pm

I follow you on Facebook!!

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
Sara Combs Lesley March 3, 2011 at 1:48 pm

Swiss Cake Rolls!

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
DEBIJOT March 3, 2011 at 1:29 pm

like you on fb – deborah t

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
DEBIJOT March 3, 2011 at 1:29 pm

I like their nutty bars.

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
Taunia Welch March 3, 2011 at 1:16 pm

I have “liked” you on Facebook!

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
Taunia Welch March 3, 2011 at 1:15 pm

My kids love Little Debbie Pumpkin Delights especially in the fall after a day at Papa’s Pumpkin Patch with a cup of hot cocoa.

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
Nicole F March 3, 2011 at 12:11 pm

Love the fancy cakes!

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
Karen March 3, 2011 at 11:33 am

Nutty Bars!!

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
Denicia Richardson March 3, 2011 at 10:44 am

I LOVE the seasonal snacks that they come out with throughout the year ie. Christmas tree cakes, Easter basket cakes, and be my valentine cakes!!!In the words of Dora the explorer “Yum, yum, yum…delicioso!” (ok, i have 2 yr old twin girls..lol)

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
Phylisa Jackson March 3, 2011 at 10:35 am

My family favorite Debbie Snack Cakes are swiss rolls. We can eat a box of them within a week.

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
Melissa March 3, 2011 at 10:19 am

I love the zebra cakes!!! And I love your website!!

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
Amanda March 3, 2011 at 9:48 am

My kids, well my husband would marry Little Debbie if he could. He loves Swiss Rolls…I am sure he would love to try these as well.

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
Jen March 3, 2011 at 9:39 am

My favorite Little Debby is oatmeal cream pies—yum!

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
Marie March 3, 2011 at 9:30 am

I like the cloudy cakes.

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
Susan March 3, 2011 at 8:52 am

LOVE the cream-filled oatmeal cakes! New to your site, and love it!

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
Karen March 3, 2011 at 8:42 am

Nutty Bars. Yummy!

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
Laura McGuire March 3, 2011 at 8:28 am

I like you fb. I think that is the = to follow for a blog.
My families favorite little debbie is the nutter butter or at least that is what we call it. My personal favorite is the star crunch but I don’t buy them because it is too much temptation for me;)

  • Share This Post:
  • Share This Post on Facebook
  • Email this Post
  • Share this Post on Twitter
Janet Grace March 3, 2011 at 7:04 am

Cloud Cakes are yummy!

{ 16 trackbacks }

Previous post:

Next post: